Resolution Revolution

New Year’s Eve seems an apt day to think about resolutions.  You know, that annual time of taking stock of ourselves and our lives.  How did I do this past year, how can I improve in the new one?  The cliche declarations are easy to consider:  I need to lose weight.  I need to exercise more.  I need to watch less television.  I should drink less.  I’ve made resolutions like that a thousand times.

There are those who say that we shouldn’t make New Year’s resolutions, that by doing so we simply set ourselves up for failure.  I disagree.  After all, it was Socrates who said the “The unexamined life is not worth living.”

So what are some worthwhile goals to set for A.D. 2015?  I say, forget about weight loss and exercising more.  Have we met?!  I’d like to be a good wife to my husband.  I want to be a good mom to my adult children, although I’m just feeling my way along in the dark on this one.  I want to do my job better this year than I did the year before.  I’d like to continue writing and look seriously into getting published.

Beyond that, hitting the mid-century mark has given me a little perspective.  I think this says it best.

wpid-screenshot_2014-12-30-15-30-15-1.png

8 thoughts on “Resolution Revolution

  1. I passed the mid-century mark quite a while ago and I admire your approach to this one. As for adult children . . . well, we all start off feeling our way in the dark there! I wish you every success with your writing and getting published. Keep at it!

  2. I’m one of those “no resolutions” people, but that doesn’t mean you cannot take stock of your life. I would prefer to say that I set an achievable goal. Happy New Year! XO

  3. I stopped making resolutions When I hit that big 50. That’s the year I took the bull by the horns and didn’t come up for air until my first book was written. If you need help publishing let me know. I’m here and I won’t let you make the mistakes I did. You can do this and all of those resolutions too.

    Now about the Bullshit, Yea fuck em if they can’t take a joke. You are now in the elite mid-century group. And it’s fanfuckingtastic!

    We don’t have to take anyone’s shit anymore. We can say things and get away with them. We can say NO! And No more high school BS either. As for friends, we know who they are. The rest can all go suck an egg. Or we can get new friends. We have choices! Embrace this age and I promise you will enjoy every minute. Oh and the sex is better. What more can we ask for? So cheer up my friend. Happy New Year, oh as for drinking, who gives a shit if you have a cocktail or two. aahahah.. Hugs!!

    1. Love! your comments!! Thanks so much for putting a smile on my face. I have a glass of wine, it’s 20 minutes until the ball drops, and my Mr. just got home from work. Life is good. So here’s a very Happy New Year wish. Enjoy, and kiss (or whatever) the one you love. Talk to you next year! ❤

Thoughts?

