Saturday Night Serenade–Whitesnake

Okay, sue me, I loved the hair bands in the eighties.  I loved this song when it first came out and I love it today.

Oddly, though, when I hear it now, it takes me back to a time only a few years ago.  In a very unusual turn of events, I was on a business trip with a group from work in Manhattan.  This was a disparate group that included a representative from each department, some of whom did not exactly get along.  It was very late on a Friday night and I had persuaded the gang to go to the lower east side (of course our hotel was on the upper west side) to a pub that happens to be the home bar of one of my favorite jig-punk bands.

It was a surreal moment in time as we tossed back shots, my boss included, and waited for the Prodigals’ set.  Then someone played this song on the jukebox and suddenly, lubricated by the soothing elements of free-flowing liquor and eighties hair metal, we were as one, belting out the lyrics as though we owned the place.  Good times!

Happy Saturday Night!

3 thoughts on “Saturday Night Serenade–Whitesnake

  1. Annie B

    My favorite of theirs! I have the album Page & Coverdale did together. I like several of the songs on that one as well. Good music my friend.

Thoughts?

