Saturday Night Serenade–All I Want For Christmas

One week from tonight is Christmas Eve!  I’m so excited.  I only have four work days before a two-week holiday.  The last of my out-of-town gifts went out today, guaranteed to arrive before Friday.  I used Amazon Prime to order a little Christmas surprise for Mr. R., to be delivered by Tuesday.

I know, we agreed to say the new Christmas tree, in addition to the new kitchen, bathrooms, and wood flooring happening just after New Years would be our gifts to each other.  But, you know…

All I Want for Christmas by Mariah Carey is one of my favorite holiday songs, and this is my favorite version, featuring Jimmy Fallon and The Roots playing classroom instruments.  I especially love the pop-up kids in the foreground.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

You’re getting a two-fer this week, though.  Christmas at our house comes with some required viewing.  We always have to watch Christmas Vacation at some point, and then Christmas Eve is not the same without A Christmas Story.

But tonight, we’re watching Love Actually.  It’s one of my all-time favorite movies, with all of its random but intersecting story lines.  Your second serenade features brilliant British actor Bill Nighy performing as Billy Mack, aging rocker trying to make a comeback with a holiday song that’s a play on one of his earlier hits.  It’s heartfelt comedy gold and I couldn’t resist it.

So as we get closer to the holiday, I hope you feel it in your fingers.  And in your to-oes. 🙂 Happy Saturday night!

6 thoughts on “Saturday Night Serenade–All I Want For Christmas

Thoughts?

