Saturday Night Serenade–Is There A Doctor In The House?

We’re in a state of flux in the R. house these days.  I mentioned in a previous post that we’re taking on the adventure of a huge renovation on the foreclosure we bought five years ago.  We’re putting in wood flooring in place of the cheap carpet we bought when we first moved in.  We’re replacing the builder-grade kitchen cabinets and counters with beautiful custom made cupboards and granite counter tops.  And we’re completely overhauling both bathrooms.

Having refinanced the house and taken out some of the equity, these projects will be done with cash.  We’ve met with the contractors a couple of times and we’re finalizing plans to begin in January.  It seems we’re all systems go.

However, there is a monkey in the wrench–two weeks ago, Mr. R. shocked me to pieces by announcing one afternoon when I returned home from work that he’d quit his job.  Just resigned and walked out.  Yep.  It took me a little time to wrap my head around it.  I knew he hated the job.  I just didn’t think he’d up and quit.  Anyway…

The reno is still on.  He’s not sure what he’s going to do to help pay the bills, but he’s working on a plan to start his own media business, including a production company.  He’ll probably have to get a job and do that on the side right now, like I do my writing on the side.

Long-term, we’re talking about completing the renovations and thus increasing the value of the house so that in a couple of years, we can sell it and use the money to move somewhere new.  Mr. R. grew up here in south Florida and is itching to live somewhere with seasons and mountains.  I’m not entirely sure why anybody’d want to leave paradise, but I’m hip about quitting my job, and selling the house will allow for that.  I can write anywhere, and he can do his business anywhere, too.

So like I said, we’re in a state of flux.  Tonight’s song?  We have a man-cold at our house this weekend.  I thought the song was fitting.  In lieu of flowers, feel free to make donations to your favorite charity.  I’ll keep you apprised of the situation.  Happy Saturday night!

P.S.~ Oh, and we will be sharing our adventure in home renovation.  Up first, an unintended project due to self-inflicted Hurricane Matthew damage.  Yep.

3 thoughts on “Saturday Night Serenade–Is There A Doctor In The House?

Thoughts?

